Sausage and Sweet Pepper Pizza

The Jeopardy decision jingle plays in my head whenever I’m trying to figure out what to make for lunch during the week. In my opinion, leftovers make the best lunches.

I saw this recipe on Joy the Baker and knew it would satisfy my lunch time hunger for the week. My version also makes two pizzas but I took a few short cuts – like store bought pizza crust.

  • 2 pizza crusts – store bought or you can make your own
  • 3 Italian sausages (sweet or spicy, I used sweet)
  • Tomato sauce (small can)
  • Clove of garlic
  • Oregano
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 bell peppers (thinly sliced)
  • 1/2 medium red onion (thinly sliced)
  • Olive oil
  • Cracked black pepper

First, take your sausage out of the casing. Brown the sausage in a pan. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

While the sausage is browning, mix the garlic and oregano into the tomato sauce and spread over the pizza crusts. Sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top.

When sausage is completely browned, add to the pizza. In the same pan, cook down the red onions and bell peppers for a few minutes. Then add them to the top of the pizza.

Drizzle with a little olive oil and cracked blacked pepper.

Put both pizzas in the oven for about 20 minutes (may be different directions on your store bought pizza crust). I switched the pizzas on the racks about half way through the cook time since things on the bottom rack tend to not get as crispy.

Cut into slices and enjoy! The pizza freezes pretty well too and made a great lunch at work.

I broke all the healthy rules on this one so no diet designations today. It does has vegetables though, right?

Leave a comment